Our governors

Governing Body

The Governing Body oversees the strategic direction of the school and is made up as follows:

Bedford Free School Governors:

Nigel Syson (Chair of Governors)

Member Appointed Governor/ Trustee

Elizabeth Arden  

Co-opted Governor/Trustee

Paul Messam


Kirsty Loveday

Vice Chair

Rupinder Judge

Co-opted Governor

Michael Cox

Staff Governor

Ken Bonser

Clerk to Governors
Advantage Schools Trustees:  

Elizabeth Arden


Ryan Tobias

Vice Chair

Paul Jameson


Tom Rees


Martin Dodge


Emma Abbey


Bridget Edge

Company Secretary

Governors play an important role in the life of the school. Their main function is to ensure that the school improves so that the highest standards possible are achieved in all aspects of school life. The Principal and the staff are responsible for the day-to-day running of the school. They work hard to implement the School Improvement Plan. It is the responsibility of the governors to challenge and support the school in its ways of achieving the best for students.

Governors' duties include:

  • promoting high standards
  • setting targets for pupil achievement
  • taking general responsibility for the conduct of the school
  • making sure that the curriculum is balanced and broadly based, in particular that the National Curriculum and religious education are taught, and reporting on pupils' achievement in National Curriculum assessments and examination results
  • participating in the appointment of senior staff and regulating staff conduct and discipline

Governors registers of interests and statement can be found in the Downloads and Policy section of our website.

If you would like any further information about the governing body please contact Bridget Edge at the school or via email: bedge@bedfordfreeschool.co.uk

Our accreditations